Heritage Railway Association

Previous Annual Awards


Every February, we hold an Awards Dinner at which those that have performed spectacularly well over the year are recognised by both the HRA and Editors of the four main railway magazines.

The Dinner is a really fun event, with good food and the chance to catch up with friends and colleagues. 

The 2019 Annual Awards Dinner will be held on 09 February 2019
at the Burlington Hotel, Birmingham

This year, to remove some confusion, we are changing the title of our yearly awards, and the event will be called the same as the year in which it is being presented.
Therefore the awards that will be presented on 09 February 2019 are titled the 2019 Awards
they will of course will be for achievements in 2018


The winners of the 2017 Awards were announced at the Annual Awards Dinner on the 10th February 2018.

The Manisty Award for Excellence

The Association’s most prestigious award. Awarded by the Board of the HRA on an occasional basis for an exceptional and outstanding contribution to railway preservation. 

There were 2 winners of this prestgious award:

Swanage Railway for bringing back passenger services to Wareham

Whitehead RPSI for their new Museum and Engineering Facility

The Morgan Award for Outstanding Achievements 

Awarded to an HRA member organisation for an outstanding achievement.

Lynton and Barnstaple Railway for the new-build loco Lyn and her carriages

Headhunters Railway Museum for marking the 60th Anniversary of the closure of railways in Fermanagh.

Gwili Railway for Abergwili Extension.


The Coiley Locomotive Engineering AwarD

Awarded to an HRA member who has completed an outstanding engineering project in the field of locomotive overhaul, restoration, or preservation. 

A1 Steam Locomotive Trust for Tornado certification for 90 mph running.

North Norfolk Railway, M&GN Railway Society for 90775 major overhaul.

Great Central Railway for 73156 restoration.

Merchant Navy Locomotive Preservation Society for 35028 Clan Line.



HRA Annual Award for Small Groups

Awarded to an HRA member, from the smaller categories of membership, for an outstanding achievement

Glenfinnan Station Museum

Bahamas Locomotive Society Learning Coach at Ingrow station.

West Lancashire Railway for their 50th Anniversary celebrations

Rother Valley for the new connection at Robertsbridge

Telford Steam Railway for their Polar Express event

HRA Annual Award for Large Groups

Awarded to an HRA member, from the larger categories of membership, for an outstanding achievement. 

Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway for their new Museum

Gloucestershire and Warwickshire Steam Railway for Hayles Abbey Halt

Romney Hythe and Dymchurch Railway for their level crossing protection system.


HRA Award for an Outstanding Member Attraction 

This is awarded to an HRA member, in any category, who provides an outstanding visitor experience. 

The Awards Panel decided that there should be two winners of this award, so that both larger and smaller attractions could be represented.

Winner - Larger Attractions
Beamish Museum

Winner - Smaller Attractions
Perrygrove Railway

East Lancashire Railway

Great Orme Tramway

Lappa Valley Steam Railway





The Editor's Awards 2017

The winners are nominated by the Editors of the four railway Magazines. 
The 2017 awards were presented at the annual HRA Award Dinner on the 10th February 2018.

Mortons Media (Heritage Railway) Interpretation Award 

2017 Winner:
Barrow Hill – For the conservation and restoration of a once common, but now unique,  key part of British Railway Heritage and its accessibility to the general public through imaginative interpretation.

The Railway Magazine Annual Award for Services to Railway Preservation 

2017 Winner:
Mervyn Allcock – For his vision, drive, determination and passion over a 30 year period culminating in the realisation of the Barrow Hill Roundhouse project.

Mortons Media (Rail Express) Modern Traction Award 

2017 Winner:
East Lancashire Railway Diesel Group - For the superb restoration of the last surviving complete class 105 DMU power and trailer car.

Steam Railway Magazine Award 

2017 Winner:
The A1 Steam Locomotive Trust and DB Cargo, for reaching out with Tornado, to new and wider audiences through national media and cinema inspiring them with the first 100mph steam run in half a century, Settle and Carlisle Plandampf, and the Paddington 2 film.




Carriage and Wagon Awards

The “Carriage and Wagon Awards” are given bi-annually.
The next presentations will made to the winners at  an HRA event in 2018.
The winners and details of the ceremony will be announced here as soon as they are available

Nominations should normally be made to Chris Smyth, however as the 2017 Awards have now been decided upon, the next nominations in this category will be needed for the AGM in 2020.  Due to the nature of these awards, and the need for all nominees to be visited by the judging panel, nominations should be made to Chris as early as possible during 2019.

These sections are:

Overall Winner

Best Coach

Best Wagon

Best Tram or Railcar