Enter the HRA Annual Awards 2024

Enter the HRA Annual Awards 2024

Railways, tramways, rolling stock groups and preservationists up and down the UK are invited to enter the biggest awards in heritage rail.

Entry forms for all 11 awards are now available - see below.

Recognising excellence and innovation in almost every aspect of heritage railway and tramway restoration, preservation and operation, recent winners have ranged from the Sittingbourne and Kemsley Light Railway’s 2ft 6in gauge steam locomotive 'Premier' to the Severn Valley’s Class 50 Alliance … plus there’s been gongs for digital marketing at the Talyllyn, volunteer success at Peak Rail, railcar restoration on the Isle of Wight Steam Railway, a Primrose Path on the North Yorkshire Moors Railway, engineering innovation at Lynton and Lynmouth Cliff Railway, and the small but engaging museum at Glenfinnan Station. 

This year most HRA Awards categories remain unchanged. The top ‘Railway of the Year’ title is back after being reintroduced for the 2023 event alongside other well-known categories like the Coiley Award for Steam Locomotive Engineering, the Morgan Award for Rolling Stock Preservation and the Lord Faulkner Young Volunteers Award.

Updated for the 2024 awards is the HRA Award for Innovation in Business and Customer Experience. The category has been expanded to encompass work in engaging with customers in new or exciting ways, and excellence in heritage railway events. Other categories returning for 2024 include awards for ‘Infrastructure’, ‘Team of the Year’, ‘Diesel and Electric Locomotion’, ‘Environmental Innovation’, ‘Rising Stars’ and ‘Marketing and Communications.’

The deadline for entries is 5pm on Monday, 6 November 2023.

Winners will be announced at the 2024 HRA Awards Evening in Brighton on Saturday, 10 February with guest speakers, networking opportunities and a gala dinner, with drinks reception sponsored by Ffestiniog & Welsh Highland Railways.

Last year witnessed perhaps the most diverse range of entries the awards has ever enjoyed. Finalists included a number of smaller rolling stock owning groups like Diesel and Electric Locomotion Award winners Georail Heritage Volunteers Group, who restored an Andrew Barclay 0-6-0DH; in other categories well-established HRA members like the Bluebell Railway and Severn Valley rubbed shoulders with the up-and-coming Hampton and Kempton Waterworks Railway.

For more information, and to enter online now, please select a category below:

Coiley Award for Steam Locomotive Engineering

Diesel and Electric Locomotion

Environmental Innovation Sponsored by Premier Park


Innovation in Business and Customer Experience Sponsored by PNP Events

Lord Faulkner Young Volunteer Award 

Marketing and Communications Sponsored by Fox & Edwards Events

Morgan Award for Rolling Stock Preservation Sponsored by Paintman Paints

Railway of the Year Proudly sponsored by Inspire Structures

Rising Stars

Team of the Year

Please remember to read the terms and conditions for the HRA Annual Awards before completing your entry. 


HRA Annual Awards - Sponsorship Opportunities

A range of attractive sponsorship packages are available for businesses, commercial partners, individuals and HRA members wishing to support the Annual Awards and significantly increase their profile to the heritage rail sector.

Sponsorship packages


Previous winners

If you're looking for some inspiration, why not take a look at some of the railways, tramways, funiculars, cliff lifts and rolling stock groups that have won HRA Annual Awards previously?

Previous winners

Latest news

See all news