HRA Annual Awards 2023 shortlist

HRA Annual Awards 2023 shortlist

The finalists for the largest and most prestigious awards in heritage rail have been revealed.

The finest restorations and most innovative projects on the heritage railway scene are set to go head-to-head for top honours at the HRA Annual Awards 2023. The shortlist for what have been dubbed the ‘Oscars’ of the sector was revealed in early February.

The 2023 HRA Annual Dinner and Awards are proudly sponsored by leading steam locomotive lubricant producers Hallett Oils. With 11 hotly-contested categories, including a number of new categories, entries have been stronger than ever.

Heritage Railway Association Chief Executive, Steve Oates, said: “Despite all of the challenges thrown at the sector, some of the work demonstrated by entrants to the awards this year is literally staggering. The amount of effort put in by staff and volunteers at railways and tramways up and down the country over the past 12 months never ceases to impress – and these awards are all about celebrating their successes.

“It’s going to be a really exciting evening; heritage rail’s big night out! I can’t wait to see the winners up on stage, smiling to the cameras and knowing that their hard work has paid off.”

Railway of the Year

Arguably the top honour for 2023 is the new ‘Railway of the Year’ award, sponsored by Hallett Oils. Shortlisted in this category are:

  • Seaton Tramway  
  • Isle of Wight Steam Railway 
  • Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway  
  • Dartmouth Steam Railway & River Boat Company 

Coiley Award for Steam Locomotive Engineering

The most coveted prize for anyone restoring a steam locomotive is the Coiley Award for Steam Locomotive Engineering, sponsored by Morris Lubricants. This year the finalists are:

  • Dean Forest Locomotive Group – Restoration of BR 57xx (8750) Pannier Tank No. 9681  
  • Sittingbourne & Kemsley Light Railway – ‘Premier' back to the future project 
  • Bluebell Railway – LB&SCR A1 No.72 Fenchurch 
  • Severn Valley Railway – Hagley Hall 

HRA Award for Diesel and Electric Locomotion

The HRA Award for Diesel and Electric Locomotion was no less hotly contested. Making the shortlist are:

Morgan Award for Rolling Stock Preservation

In the world of carriage and wagon, the Morgan Award for Rolling Stock Preservation is a highly prized accolade. In the running this year are:

HRA Infrastructure Award

Another new addition is the HRA Infrastructure Award, sponsored by VolkerLaser, created to honour the best heritage rail civil engineering, signalling and buildings work. Shortlisted in the inaugural award are:

  • Aln Valley Railway Trust – Cawledge Viaduct Refurbishment 
  • Cambrian Heritage Railways – CHR Weston Wharf extension     
  • Hampton and Kempton Waterworks Railway – New Coach Shed and Maintenance Facility

HRA Team of the Year Award

Also new for 2023 is the HRA Team of the Year Award, created to recognise outstanding contributions from groups of staff or volunteers at heritage railways and tramways. In the running are:

Lord Faulkner Award for Young Volunteers

The Lord Faulkner Award for Young Volunteers continues to go from strength to strength, indicating the success of many railways and tramways in attracting and developing a younger workforce. The finalists are:

HRA Award for Rising Stars

The HRA Award for Rising Stars, sponsored by Rail Signalling & Power, aims to recognise those who are aged over-26 but new to the sector. This award is also new for 2023 and the first shortlist features:

  • West Somerset Railway – Kerry Noble  
  • Railway Preservation Society of Ireland – Gill Lewis        
  • Middleton Railway Trust – Youth Team

HRA Award for Environmental Innovation

The HRA Award for Environmental Innovation shortlist features:

HRA Award for Business Innovation

Finalists in the HRA Award for Business Innovation sponsored jointly by PNP Events Ltd and Trackside Magazine are:

  • Bodmin & Wenford Railway – Cornish Rail Coffee Company 
  • Yorkshire Dales Railway Museum Trust – Dales Dining 

HRA Award for Marketing and Communications 

The HRA Award for Marketing and Communications will be contested by:                                                                                                                                    

The awards will all be presented at a glamorous evening event in Birmingham on Saturday, 11 March. Tickets for the HRA Annual Dinner and Awards 2023 are available now.

Buy Dinner and Awards tickets


Latest news

See all news